News Back  |  See more photos

Singing Idol 2018

One of the most awaited event of the Uhay Festival, the Singing Idol 2018 Grand Finals, was held last Wednesday 9th of January 2019 at the Science City of Muñoz Pag-asa Gymnasium. The contest was held to search for talented singers from Nueva Ecija. Auditions for the contest started on December 17 to 19, 2018 where in 35 participants were accepted out of 74 auditionees and the judges for the audition are Mr. Kristian Balatbat, Mrs. Joy Loria and Mr. Jezreel Leybag. The Semi-finals for the contest was held last December 27, 2018 where 35 contestants where reduced to 15 contestants for the grand finals. Judges for the semis include the previous judges with 2 new judges, Mr. Ardie Cabatin and Mr. Fenmar Dela Cruz. For the Grand finals, the LGU hired Veteran Director Mr. Joey Nombres and Assistant Director/Choreographer Fernan Pangilinan to oversee the contest. The judges for the Grand Finals are Mr. Carlo Angelo Falcis, Ms. Maria Carmilla Molina, Dr. Bienvenido B. Constantino and the Chairman of the Board, Dr. Florante P. Ibarra.

The grand Finalist are:

#2 FERRY REYES - One Moment in Time
#3 GRACIOUS DE GUZMAN - Habang may Buhay
#4 CIANICA DELA CRUZ - What Kind of Fool am I
#5 MARY JANE NOVELO - Ngayon at Kailanman
#6 JONNEL DELA CRUZ - Hanggang
#7 JOMALYN BAUTISTA - I will Always Love You
#9 JOVY CRIS BATTUNG - I Can't stop
#10 RANDY MARAVILLA - Hanggang
#11 PRINCESS MAHALIA LIGON - Ngayon at Kailanman
#12 KENN JOSHUA JARDIN - This is the Moment
#13 KIMBERLY CAMUS - Ikaw Lang ang Mamahalin
#14 MICHAEL VINCENT CAMUS - Rolling in the Deep
#15 HARRIZ BATTUNG - I will Survive

The criteria for judging are voice quality, 50%; Intonation, Interpretation and Diction, 30%; Stage Presence, 10%; and Overall Impact, 10%. The tabulators of the results are Ms. Leilani D. Tidalgo and Mr. Jun Francis P. Santiago. Mayor Nestor L. Alvarez, Ph.D. attended the show together with Coun. Allan S. Pingol, Coun. Edmond J. Balmeo, Coun. Rodney S. Cabrera, and other officials from the LGU and Barangay Unit. The dancers for the intermission number and production number are the X-pointer movers seniors and juniors and J's Crew.

Winners of the Contest, for 3rd place is contestant number 6 Mr. Jonnel Dela Cruz, for 2nd place is contestant number 15 Mr. Harriz Battung and the Grand Champion of the Singing Idol 2018 is Ms. Mary Jane Novelo. Winners will receive 10,000, 15,000 and 20,000 pesos and 1,500 pesos as consolation prize for the non winners.